Commission for the protection of minors is complete

2014-12-17 L’Osservatore Romano

As anticipated, Pope Francis has appointed new members to the Pontifical Commission for the Protection of Minors, chosen from various parts of the world, so as to allow a broad representation of different situations and cultures. The Holy See Press Office announced this on Wednesday in a press release which indicated the complete composition of the Commission as follows: 

— Cardinal Seán Patrick O’Malley, ofm Cap., President;

— Msgr Robert Oliver (United States), Secretary;

— Rev. Luis Manuel Ali Herrera (Colombia);

— Dr Catherine Bonnet (France);

— Marie Collins (Ireland);

— Dr Gabriel Dy-Liacco (Philippines);

— Baroness, Prof. Sheila Hollins (England);

— Bill Kilgallon (New Zealand);

— Sr Kayula Gertrude Lesa, rsc (Zambia);

— Sr Hermenegild Makoro, cps (South Africa);

— Kathleen McCormack, am (Australia);

— Dr Claudio Papale (Italy);

— Peter Saunders (England);

— Hon. Hanna Suchocka (Poland);

— Dr Krysten Winter-Green (United States);

— Rev. Dr. Humberto Miguel Yáñez, sj (Argentina);

— Rev. Dr. Hans Zollner, sj (Germany).

The next plenary session of the Commission will take place in the Vatican from 6–8 February 2015, as previously announced.